gfiles magazine

September 23, 2013

Delhi Election 2013 Okhla

First time independent MLA Asif Mohammad Khan has lost some of his sheen but is expected to make it up with Congress voters.

The Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP), which was runner-up in the by-election, will attempt to wrest the seat once again through its State President Brahm Singh Bidhuri.

The Bharatiya Janata Party and the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) enjoy stray support here and there, but are not in contention for the seat.
Asif Mohammad Khan (50) has pedigree in politics. His elder brother Arif Mohammad (72) was a four-time Lok Sabha MP and Union Minister in Indira Gandhi and Rajiv Gandhi governments. His nephew Dilnawaz Khan is a Congress MLA in Uttar Pradesh. Another close relative Mahmood Hasan Khan represented Bulandshahar in the Lok Sabha twice in the past. Khan, a former municipal councillor from Okhla Ward, caused a major upheaval in Delhi politics when he emerged victorious in a by-election, caused by elevation of Parvez Hashmi, former Delhi Minister and four-time MLA, to the Rajya Sabha. Congress nominee Farhad Suri ended up on the third spot behind Bahujan Samaj Party’s Delhi unit President Brahm Singh Bidhuri. Read more..

No comments:

Post a Comment